Confessions of a Filmaholic

When I was 15 years old, I went to the midnight premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2. Ground-breaking movie, I know. But it was amazing; people were dressed up as their favourite characters, the theatres were packed, we collectively cried when Fred died and cheered when Bellatrix was killed. When the movie ended and the lights came up, we all left the theatre as one, filled with energy (despite it being 3am) at having experienced such a film, yet devastated because the series was over.

This was the first time I experienced a feeling of togetherness within a movie theatre. The audience was connected; we were not only at the movies with the friends we had come with, but the strangers next to us. We experienced it together. It was one of the most brilliant feelings I have ever felt. And now I get it all the time; when I go to the movies by myself, if the theatre is packed, the people next to me become the people I enjoy the movie with. I love the feeling of movies moving entire theatres of people, pushing them to enjoy the experience together. But the great thing about movies is, you don’t have to be in a packed theatre for a movie to move you. I have cried, or laughed out loud, so many times whilst just watching a movie alone in my room. And I may have seen them a hundred times, but I will still crack up at Mrs Doubtfire, or cry at the end of The Holiday. Movies make me do that.

I’m a mega nerd about movies. Once I see a movie, I will trawl the internet, trying to find out everything I can about it, from who directed it to who made the sandwiches for lunch. I like to know who was responsible for every element of a movie, directing to soundtrack.

The reason I’ve started this blog is because I want a place to be able to talk about movies. I’m currently studying to become a film critic, and I’m almost always thinking about movies, so I need somewhere to let my mind run wild. There will be reviews, opinion pieces and, of course, the occasional movie related rant. I also hope to share some of my favourite movies with you. And, if you have an opinion you’d like to share with me on a topic I write about, or a movie you think I’d like, feel free to share it with me in a comment.

Whenever I tell someone that I want to be a film critic, the first thing they ask me is “what’s your favourite movie?” This is the hardest question to answer, because a) I don’t have one favourite movie, I have many, and b) not all of my favourite movies are Oscar winning pieces of art. I like a lot of bad, cheesy movies. But they’re the best ones, aren’t they?

To finish off my first ever blog post, I’m going to leave you with a list of my 20 favourite movies, because I couldn’t pick just ten.
1. Kingsmen: Secret Service
2. Aladdin
3. 10 Things I Hate About You
4. the Holiday
5. The Internship
6. Tangled
7. Dead Poets’ Society
8. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
9. the Blind Side
10. X Men: Days of Future Past
11. Penelope
12. 27 Dresses
13. Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl
14. the Sound of Music
15. Roman Holiday
16. About Time
17. Letters to Juliet
18. Love, Actually
19. 21 Jump Street
20. The Princess Bride

Talk soon,
Jessica x

Leave a Reply

