My 100th Blog Post!!!

100 posts! It’s hard to believe I’ve written so many posts, but then again, it feels like a thousand. This blog began as an outlet for me to be able to share my work with my friends, and eventually, the world; to think I’ve complained about, criticised, and praised so many different films, shared so many of my opinions and thoughts on movies, and spent so much time working on all of these different posts is astonishing. But the craziest part is that they actually get read by people, so to whomever it is that’s out there reading this, thank you. I truly appreciate it.

But to be honest, I would still do this without people reading it, and I did for a long time, too, and that’s because I really love movies, and I really love this blog. I think about both of them every day, constantly, prattle on about them to whoever will listen, and don’t think I will ever stop doing that.

With the two year anniversary of this blog coming up (two years! I can’t believe it), I thought I’d save the big memory-fest for that post instead, so for my 100th blog post I thought I’d focus on my two big loves, movies and lists. Two commemorate my 100th blog post, here is my top ten favourite films of all time:

(Disclaimer: I have dozens of favourite films. I’d challenge anyone to pick the one favourite movie of all time they have. This top ten focuses mainly on the important stuff, like making me feel all good inside, re-watchability, memories and favourite characters. Okay. Enjoy!)

  1. Kingsman: The Secret Service
    ktss1
    It’s a newer film, but when it came out I saw it three times in the cinemas. I bought it for my birthday, and watched it on my birthday. I just love it. Following a gentleman spy named Harry Hart (Colin Firth) who takes a working class man, Eggsy (Taron Egerton), under his wing, Kingsman has heaps of humour, action and great performances that never fail to make me smile and make a bad day good again.
  2. The Holiday
    N. M. Holiday Project
    The Holiday is one of my absolute favourite Kate Winslet movies, and certainly one of my favourite movies of all time, about a Hollywood editor and a newspaper reporter who swap homes for the holidays after their love-lives get turned upside down. It sounds cheesy, and it is, which is why I don’t particularly like Cameron Diaz’s character in it, but everyone else is fantastic: Kate Winslet and Jack Black have such wonderful, sweet and comedic chemistry together, and Jude Law is wonderful romantic and heartfelt. And my favourite character, Arthur (played by the brilliant Eli Wallach), a retired Hollywood screenwriter, provides some moments and quotes that get me every time, reminding us to be the leading character in our own lives.
  3. Aladdin
    a1
    A Disney classic, Aladdin captures my heart for two reasons. The first is because he is the most relatable character; he’s not royalty, but he’s in love, and he doesn’t feel like he’s good enough for the person he’s in love with or the things that he wants. He only figures out that the best way to connect with Jasmine is being himself through the Genie, which is the second reason I love this movie. Robin Williams is an icon to me, I love everything he did, and the Genie is probably his most Robin Williams role ever, so full of life and pop culture and fun, that re-watching Aladdin is like sitting down with an old friend.
  4. The Princess Bride
    img_0313
    “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.” The Princess Bride is one of those movies that is so memorable and quotable, that you feel like you’ve seen it a hundred times when you’ve only seen it a few, but in the best possible way. The story of Buttercup, Wesley and their friends is so dear to me because it has everything a movie could want: it’s a romance and an action film, with the quirkiest, most lovable sense of humour I’ve ever encountered, so much so that the framing device of the grandfather reading the story to his grandson is actually one of my favourite parts of the movie. The Princess Bride is one of my “Twoo wuv”s of cinema.
  5. Toy Story 2
    ts21
    One of the strongest memories I have from my childhood is the Toy Story 2 PC game. There was checkers with Woody’s critters, a luggage jumping game, and a Frogger-esque game where you had to navigate Buzz and co. across the highway. When watching the movie, however, my nostalgia changes: Toy Story 2’s ideas of leaving our toys behind and growing up hits me so hard every time, I cry just hearing the song from Jessie’s flashback. But it also has so many jokes, like Empire Strikes Back references galore and toy store jokes, and it’s just such a wonderful, well-rounded, heartfelt sequel that really elevates the franchise and makes you feel everything.
  6. X-Men: First Class
    xmfc1
    This movie is actually one of the first movies that really made me passionate about movies. The X-Men franchise is one of my favourite series, and First Class, directed by my favourite director Matthew Vaughn, is one of the best X-movies, a great combination of fantastic cast, sharp story and quick action. James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender give Charles and Erik such an interesting relationship, and Vaughn really makes use of his talented cast and setting, giving it depth but also having fun with it. Of all superhero movies, this is the one I love the most.
  7. Roman Holiday
    rh1
    I haven’t seen very many, but I love classic movies, and I love Audrey Hepburn movies best of all. Roman Holiday was her first headlining role as Princess Ann, a bored Royal visiting Rome who escapes from palace life for the day with Joe Bradley, an American journalist played by Gregory Peck. Even though it’s in black and white, Rome absolutely shines in this charming film about friendship and duty, and the chemistry between Hepburn and Peck (and, indeed, Eddie Albert, who third wheels as Joe’s photographer friend Irving for most of the film) is delightful, with a beautiful score serenading them on top. But despite all it’s brilliance, Audrey Hepburn is still the best part, sweet and funny and heartbreaking, and it’s her Oscar winning role. Roman Holiday makes any day better.
  8. Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl
    potc1
    I grew up on three movie series: Star Wars, Indiana Jones, and Pirates of the Caribbbean. The first two series make up the next two slots, but one of my favourite movies of all time is Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl. I always loved the sword-fighting and swashbuckling, Geoffrey Rush scared the hell out of me as a kid, and I was so in love with Orlando Bloom as a child (is that creepy? You decide). But rewatching it as an adult, the film has a really enjoyable and original story, awesome action, and such lovable characters, with Johnny Depp’s iconic staggering Jack Sparrow and great chemistry between Bloom and Keira Knightley. I am well overdue for a re-watch of this movie, but I will always love it.
  9. Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
    ijatlc1
    All three original Indiana Jones films (we don’t talk about the fourth) are masterpieces, but of the three, The Last Crusade has always been my favourite. I don’t know why young me chose to love the one with the snakes and rats, but that must speak volumes about the tight story and great relationship between Indy and his dad (my favourite Sean Connery role), that I would overlook such horrifying scenes. The Last Crusade was the basis for my love of Ancient History, and of Harrison Ford, who is more iconic as Indiana than Han for me, and the fun action and story always makes me to watch it whenever it’s on TV, which is often.
  10. Star Wars – Episode IV: A New Hope
    stanh1
    Last year I did a whole series of reviews of each Star Wars movie, and every time I re-watch the series, A New Hope is by far my favourite. There’s something about Lucas building his world for the first time that always captures my imagination: Old Ben is telling Luke stories about the Old Republic, the trash compacter scene, Leia’s classic one-liners, Han shooting first in the Cantina… I could go on and on about how much I love A New Hope, because there isn’t a scene I don’t love, a line I can’t quote, a character that doesn’t excite me. The Empire Strikes Back may be perfect, but A New Hope is perfect to me.

There are so many movies I had to leave off this list that I could honestly write about another twenty films and still be nowhere near done, but the movies listed above are a quintessential list of films that never fail to brighten my day and get me excited.

What are some of your favourite movies? Let me know in the comments, and if I haven’t seen them, they’ll be next on my watchlist!

Talk soon,

Jessica x

Photos taken from IMDB.com:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2802144/mediaviewer/rm214302720
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0457939/mediaviewer/rm3696138496
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0103639/mediaviewer/rm175432960
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093779/mediaviewer/rm3834676224
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120363/mediaviewer/rm4046227712
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1270798/mediaviewer/rm3898784000
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0046250/mediaviewer/rm4016740352
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0325980/mediaviewer/rm1788653568
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0097576/mediaviewer/rm1920519168
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076759/mediaviewer/rm3707241984

8 thoughts on “My 100th Blog Post!!!

  1. Thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog Jessica, my favourite there was The Holiday. One of my all time favourites is Splendour In The Grass with Natalie Wood & Warren Beatty. I watched this movie so long ago (when I was young) not knowing at that time how close to my heart it would become. I just love it. Another favourite is Steel Magnolias with Sally Field, Julia Roberts, Dolly Parton & more, but one of my all time favourites is Shirley McLean. I thought as well as being witty & sad it was hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love Back to the Future as well, the original is probably my favourite ever script of a movie. I’ll have to check out Gone With the Wind, though, the long runtime scares me but I know I can do it! You’ve got fine taste my friend ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. GWTW is at least interesting, so you don’t really notice the long runtime. And the DVD of it that I watched split the movie onto 2 discs: the first half up to the intermission on 1 and the second half on the other. So I watched one DVD the first day and the other DVD the next day to split up the time.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

