Movie March: Week Three

Movie March: Week Three

It’s been a bad week, guys. I’m sorry. For seven nights of potential movie watching, I only watched four. They were good movies, don’t get me wrong, but only four? I’ll do better next week, I promise. But on a positive note, this week Movie march became something a little bit different to me: starting this challenge I was using it to try and inspire myself to watch more movies, but instead I’ve found that it’s been a way for me to sort of analyse my watching habits, and start paying attention to not just how much I watch, but what I watch.

For example, it’s become pretty clear that I go through phases – I’m doing a long-form Marvel marathon, I’ve been watching a lot of Disney movies, and I’ve rekindled my love of Audrey Hepburn movies, so I’ll probably try and finish that box set too. I’ve also noticed that I seem to watch SOMETHING every day, whether it’s a movie, some TV, or especially YouTube, so I’ll talk a little about my favourite movie-related channels later too.

Long story short, they may not have always been movies, but I have watched something every day, so let me break it down for you:

15/3: Riverdale
r2
I wrote at length last week about how much I’m obsessed with Riverdale at the moment, and it’s not going away any time soon. The mystery is getting so much deeper, with new characters popping up left, right and centre that are only creating more and more suspects for this super complex murder conspiracy. But at the heart of it is this really great teen drama, too; there are some really sweet love stories brewing, great family tension being unravelled, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. I’ve also realised that’s why I like Riverdale so much: I’ve seen terrible versions of this type of show, with series like Pretty Little Liars really falling flat and becoming convoluted and cheesy, but Riverdale successfully weaves so many plotlines together, combines drama with humour and mystery, and gives us lovable characters that allow us to actually get invested in the story.  The next episode can’t come fast enough.
8/10.

16/3: Captain America: The First Avenger
catfa1
An actual movie! The original Captain America is by far the weakest of the three, and possibly one of the weakest of the whole franchise, only really serving to pave the way for the Avengers. But that doesn’t mean there’s nothing to love. This first movie sets up a beautiful character arc throughout the entire franchise: here we see Steve Rogers, military man, a soldier with such faith in the government that he is willing to sacrifice himself for it. This all changes as the franchise progresses, and Steve becomes more questioning and rebellious, but this movie sets him up as such a tragic character, a man lost in time, losing everyone he loves. It breaks my heart. Thankfully, we have Hayley Atwell and Tommy Lee Jones to inject a little fire and life into the story, and a fantastic villainous turn from Hugo Weaving as the Red Skull, and a little insight into Bucky Barnes, a small character no one could have known would become so important.
7/10.

17/3: Aladdin
a1
Aladdin is easily my favourite Disney movie for many reasons, so watching it last week was a no brainer. I find Aladdin the most relatable of Disney characters: he’s not a prince, just a kid trying to get by, and his love for Jasmine is so sweet and pure that it warms my heart every time. But it’s his relationship with the Genie that steals the show: not only is this my favourite Robin Williams performance, but their friendship is so fun and caring, and takes the movie over the edge to become a classic. The music is brilliant, the animation is astounding, and Jafar as a villain is actually terrifying, and Aladdin is just such a fun romp that I’m so glad I re-watched.
8/10

18/3: The Office US
The Office - Season 9
I originally started this show just for Jim and Pam, but I stayed for everyone else. The Office totally lives up to its reputation as one of the best TV shows ever; the first season is a little forgettable, but by the end of season 2 I was hooked on all the characters, from Michael’s well-meaning buffoonery to Dwight’s antics, uptight Angela and the love-to-hate-him Ryan. Of course, Jim and Pam are still my favourite part of the show – their relationship is just so real, so heartfelt, and its brilliance didn’t stop once they finally got together. I cried all the way through their wedding. Even now in season eight, the show is still wonderful (not quite as good after Steve Carell left), and I can’t wait to see how it ends.
9/10.

19/3: The Lion King
tlk1
I’m sure I saw the Lion King a million times when I was a kid, but before Sunday night I hadn’t seen it in years and years, so much so that I’d forgotten how awesome it is. It’s not quite as light-hearted as I remembered, but it’s magnificent, from the score to the animation to the deep, soothing tones of James Earl Jones’ Mufasa. Of course, it was still lots of fun: the toe-tapping soundtrack is the best of any Disney movie to date (ever), and Timon and Pumbaa are possibly Disney’s best sidekicks as well, reminding me of why I saw this movie so much as a kid.
9/10.

20/3: Roman Holiday
rh1
Audrey Hepburn movies have always been some of my favourite classic movies, and I like Roman Holiday best of them all. Watching Roman Holiday is like a fairy-tale: a princess (Hepburn) runs away from the demands of her royal life and explores one of the most romantic cities in the world with her handsome tour guide, American journalist Joe Bradley (the dashing Gregory Peck). Winning four Oscars, including Best Actress and Best Screenplay, Roman Holiday is like a dazzling daydream, all gorgeous scenery and sweet romance, but also has a lot of humour, as our two main characters hide their secret identities and cause trouble. Breakfast at Tiffany’s might be Audrey’s best-known film, but Roman Holiday will always be the best.
8/10.

21/3: YouTube
I don’t watch a wide variety of YouTube channels, but I still manage to watch a LOT of YouTube these days, and when I don’t have time to watch a movie, I tend to supplement with movie-related YouTube. For those who are interested in getting their fill of movie-Tube, I watch Screen Junkies and Screen Junkies News; the former is the channel that does Honest Trailers, which are some of the funniest videos on YouTube, but they also do a themed weekly Screen Junkies Show, and a long movie-debate show called Movie Fights (which I listen to as a podcast from iTunes). Screen Junkies News is run by the same people, but they do daily videos based on entertainment news, so on one day they could cover news about Disney, James Cameron and DC Comics, as well as a heap of reviews of new releases, with some great experts and interesting hosts and recurring guests. It’s just a great way to get insight on the latest news and see what other people are saying about the newest movies. Other than them, I also like people like Alicia Malone, a great YouTuber who loves Indie films, and SchmoesKnow, who do a great movie trivia contest.

Well, I hope I have better news to report next week on the last week of Movie March! Until then…

Talk soon,

Jessica x

Photos taken from IMDb.com:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt5420376/mediaviewer/rm1410478592
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0458339/mediaviewer/rm3293165824
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0103639/mediaviewer/rm175432960
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0386676/mediaviewer/rm880518656
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0110357/mediaviewer/rm3316497664
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0046250/mediaviewer/rm4016740352

Leave a Reply

