The Watchlist: New and Improved

When I began my original Watchlist with the best of intentions, I really did intend on finishing it. I promise. And while only managed to watch seven of the films (over the last four years? What?), I must admit defeat for now, and move on to a new list.

I’m sure I’ll get around to the three films I didn’t watch (they shall remain nameless – but points if you can guess what they are) eventually, but the upside of a new Watchlist is the incentive to watch new films!

These ten new films are all diverse, different, intriguing choices, and all of them are meant to be fantastic, of course. I think it’s interesting how this new list reflects my growth as a film lover – these ten films are vastly different to the ten I picked nearly four years ago, and, indeed, I don’t think I could have even named these films ten years ago. It is an insight into my changing interests and developing knowledge of film. And here they are:

  1. The Hurt Locker: It was the first female-directed film to win Best Director and Best Picture at the Oscars, for Kathryn Bigelow, so of course it should be at the top of this list. It is an insight into the masculinity and addiction of war and adrenaline, and I am beyond excited to finally watch it.
  2. To Kill A Mockingbird: not only have I never seen the movie, but I’ve also never read the book, two things that I should probably rectify. The iconic story about racism in the 1960s South, this worthy film also won one of my favourite actors of all time, Gregory Peck, his Academy Award, which excites me even more.
  3. Eagle vs. Shark: Taika Waititi’s first feature-length film is a New Zealand rom-com starring Jemaine Clement – need I say more? It’s the only full-length feature of his I haven’t seen, so I’m really excited to round out his filmography.
  4. Amelie: I have owned the DVD of this fantastical French rom-com for years, but somehow, I’ve still not seen it. I’m prepared to be completely swept off my feet by it. 
  5. Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid: Whilst I must admit that young Robert Redford is what piqued my interest about this film, the recent passing of Oscar-winning screenwriter William Goldman (who wrote my favourite film of all time, The Princess Bride) has catapulted this film to must-watch status in my mind. Oh, and I’ve heard it’s pretty good.
  6. Boyhood: The Before Trilogy are some of my absolute favourite films of all time, so Richard Linklater’s most recent time-hopping epic has been on my list for ages, intriguing me with its epic scale filmmaking, small scale, realistic storytelling, and, of course, Ethan Hawke, whom I love.
  7. The Birds: After recently studying two of Hitchcock’s finest and most famous, Vertigo and Rear Window, I have been extremely interested by the director, and I aim to canvas his filmography in the near future. I won’t need encouragement for most of his films, but The Birds is a tricky one for me as I’m terrified of birds. Will this make things better or worse? Only time will tell!
  8. The Piano: Another film with a female director (Jane Campion) nominated for Best Director, The Piano focuses on the power of women’s voices and sexuality in 1850s New Zealand. I’m interested by this film for many reasons – the cast, the director, the setting and the premise – but what fascinates me the most is that Anna Paquin, 11 years old at the time, won her Best Supporting Actress Oscar for this film, and I’m excited to see why.
  9. Nocturnal Animals: This film came out the same year as Arrival, one of my favourite films of 2016 which also starred Amy Adams. Unfortunately, Arrival eclipsed Nocturnal Animals that year and I never got around to seeing it, but I adore Amy Adams and everything she does (including her brief recurring role on the Office), and with a stellar supporting cast behind her I have a feeling I will also love this film.
  10. Some Like It Hot: I’ve been getting more into Marilyn Monroe films lately, with How to Marry a Millionaire being a recent new love of mine. Some Like It Hot is supposed to be one of her best, with Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon dressing as women to join an all-female band, and I’m curious to see why everybody loves it.

I’m aiming to watch one film every couple of weeks, so let’s hope I get through this Watchlist quicker than the last! Stay tuned for reviews of each of these ten wonderful, exciting films in the near future.

With love,

Jessica.

Leave a comment